Skip to main content
Discover People's California

Arriving Prepared at a Cannabis Dispensary: What You Need to Bring

By May 31, 2019April 25th, 2022No Comments

Although Proposition 64 has made recreational cannabis legal, marijuana stores in California still have to adhere to strict regulations. Among other things, these regulations govern who can enter a cannabis store, what they need to bring to a dispensary, and what marijuana products can be bought.

In this article, we’ll tell you everything you need to know in order to make your weed shopping as smooth and as pleasant as possible. Read on to learn more.

Can you enter a dispensary without a card?

Absolutely not. Reputable cannabis dispensaries will always ask you to prove your identity and that you are of legal age. This means showing a valid identification of some sort that includes a recent photograph.

This is done for two reasons:

  • Like alcohol, recreational weed products cannot legally be consumed by minors, so an ID is necessary in order to prove that you are a legal adult.
  • California law limits the amount of cannabis you can legally buy in one day. Marijuana stores keep track of all transactions, and being able to confirm your identity enables them to make sure they aren’t selling you more than the allowed amount.

Do you need a California ID to go into a dispensary?

There is no law that says that only California residents can shop at California dispensaries. As long as you have a US identification card, driving license, or a passport (if you’re not a US citizen) that proves you’re 21 years old, or older, you can enter a dispensary in California.

An exception to this rule comes in the form of people who are 18-20 years old, but who have a doctor’s prescription that states they need medical marijuana. These individuals are allowed to enter a dispensary and buy the prescribed products.

Can you bring your child into a dispensary?

As stated above, people who cannot prove that they are of legal drinking age are not allowed to go into a weed store. Again, the only exception are 18-20 year olds with a prescription. Anyone younger than 18 isn’t permitted inside.

Many of the laws that govern alcohol and tobacco consumption also apply to cannabis products. For instance, weed smoking in public is illegal in California, so don’t make the mistake of lighting up a joint in the Santa Ana Zoo or at a similarly public location.

Can you bring a friend to a dispensary?

Again, it depends. Is your friend 21 years of age, or older? Can they prove it by showing a valid ID, driver’s license, or passport? If the answer to these questions is yes, then there is no reason why your friend shouldn’t be allowed to visit a marijuana dispensary with you.

It’s important to remember that cannabis stores are businesses that can be heavily fined or even brought to court if they don’t follow the correct regulations. This means they must always confirm yours and your friend’s identities and legal age, even if both of you are clearly older than 21.

In other words, it’s nothing personal, and you should treat this need for identification the same way as you would any other transaction that requires you to prove your identity before it can legally proceed.

The leader among first-rate marijuana stores in CaliforniaCustomers making purchases at People's OC cannabis dispensary

People’s OC is the largest, best equipped, and most respected cannabis dispensary in California. Our huge selection of recreational and medicinal weed is more than capable of satisfying your every need, while our crew of expert budtenders will make your buying experience fun and easy.

Visit us at our premises today, or order a marijuana delivery straight to your doorstep. We can’t wait to meet you.